The Employment Equality Acts 1998-2015

The Equality Employment Acts 1998-2015 prohibit discrimination under nine grounds in employment, including vocational training and work experience.

Employers may not discriminate against employees or potential employees on the basis of any of the nine grounds, one of which is disability.

The Employment Equality Acts 1998-2015 aim to:

  • promote equality;
  • ban discrimination across nine grounds;
  • ban sexual and other harassment;
  • ban victimisation;
  • make sure suitable facilities for people with disabilities are available in relation to access to employment, advancing in employment and taking part in training;
  • allow positive action to ensure everyone gets full equality across the nine grounds.

Aspects of employment which are covered under the Employment Equality Acts include:

  • Advertising,
  • Equal pay,
  • Access to employment,
  • Vocational training and work experience,
  • Terms and conditions of employment,
  • Promotion or re-grading,
  • Classification of posts,
  • Dismissal,
  • Collective agreements.

Discrimination on the ‘disability ground’ occurs where there is less favourable treatment of one person compared to another person because one has a disability and the other has not, or the other has a different disability.

More Information

  1. Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission (IHREC)

Go to top